The FilAm wins 3 Plaridel Awards for excellence in Filipino American journalism

red line

tambi new

red line

Tricia Capistrano receives her award for Best Personal Essay

Tricia Capistrano receives her award for Best Personal Essay

Writer Tricia Capistrano won Best Personal Essay at the 2017 Plaridel Awards for her piece “Inadequately Asian,” describing how the books she’s read has accompanied her on her picturesque journey through her Asian culture. The article came out in the May 25, 2017 issue of The FilAm.

The FilAm Founding Editor Cristina DC Pastor won two Merit Awards for her articles “The day my daughter thought she was going to die,” her reflection on 9/11; and “Mother-son Maritess and Aries Dela Cruz: Bonding over Hillary, together mourning her loss,” on how Hillary Clinton’s loss has affected a politically engaged NYC family.

“Thank you for the nomination,” said Tricia who flew to San Francisco to accept her award. “My family in the Philippines is thrilled.”

Tricia said she is honored to be in the company of “an esteemed group of writers and broadcast professionals and that the service that news writers provide is very much needed today.”

The Plaridel Awards, now on its sixth year, recognizes excellence in Filipino American journalism. It is an annual event organized by the Philippine American Press Club in San Francisco led by Esther Misa Chavez.


This year’s winners are:

Best Commentary, Perry Diaz, FilAm Star
Best Investigative Reporting, Christina Oriel, Asian Journal
Best New Story, Christian Esteban and Agnes Constante both of
Best Personal Essay, Tricia J. Capistrano, The FilAm NY
Best Profile Writing, Elizabeth Ann Quirino, Positively Filipino
Best Feature Story, Eunice Barbara C. Novio,
Best Entertainment, France Viana, Positively Filipino
Best International Reporting, Jesse T. Reyes, Filipino Press
Best Food Story, Elizabeth Ann Quirino, Positively Filipino
Best Photo Journalism, Victor Bareng,;
Best Tourism Feature Story, Gia R. Mendoza, Positively Filipino, Lora Velinda Aniag, FilAm Star,
Best Community Reporting in Television, Henni Espinosa of Balitang America/TFC
Best Feature Story for Television, Jared Bray, Balitang America/TFC.


Merit Awardees are:
Best Commentary, Emil Guillermo/
Best Investigative Reporting, Manzel dela Cruz/Positively Filipino
Best News Story, Elpidio Estioko/FilAm Star
Best Personal Essay, Cristina DC Pastor/The FilAm NY
Best Profile Writing, Agnes Constante/ Inquirer
Best Feature Story, Cristina DC Pastor/The FilAm NY
Best Youth Voice, Agnes Constante/
Best Entertainment Story, Rey de la Cruz and Manzel dela Cruz/Positively Filipino
Best Sports Story, Leandre Ochoa/
Best Photo Journalism, Wendell Alinea/ Best Community Reporting in Television, Jared Baray
Best Feature Story, Henni Espinosa

The awarding ceremony was held at the Kalayaan Hall of the Philippine Consulate General in San Francisco.

One of the speakers was Pati Poblete Navalta, a former journalist who founded a buy-back program of guns after her son died from gun violence. Her foundation has the support of local leaders in California.

The Torch Bearer Award honorees are:

Public Service Award was Deputy Consul General Jaime Ramon T. Ascalon

Community Service and Philanthropy: The One World Institute founded by Yolanda Ortega Stern and her husband, the late) Dr. Thomas K. Stern

Photo-Journalism: The Alvarado Project.

Ness Ocampo Memorial Radio Award for Programming: FilAm Radio KEST 1450 AM represented by Bryane Ucol and Andy Rubio which broadcasts from Daly City; and KPMW Mix 105.5 represented by Cecille Piros from Maui, Hawaii.

© 2017 The FilAm


One Comment

  1. Congratulations, Crien for your awards. Well deserve.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: