‘Avenue Q’ playwright to receive honors for bringing new voice to theater

Robert Lopez: ‘Very meaningful recognition’

Robert Lopez, the Tony Award-winning co-creator of “Avenue Q” and “The Book of Mormon” will be honored at the gala event, PhilDev Celebrates Broadway: Suites by Sondheim, on November 7 at the Lincoln Center.

Lopez will receive the Award of Excellence from PhilDev, formerly the Ayala Foundation USA. His first two Broadway musicals, “Avenue Q” and “The Book of Mormon,” are critical and commercial hits, both winning Best Musical Score at the Tony Awards. “Avenue Q,” which he co-wrote with Jeff Marx, also received a Grammy nomination.

“Bobby created a new genre of musical theater that has been widely celebrated by the industry and global audiences for the past seven or eight years. Just like Sondheim, Bobby brought a new voice and perspective to the theater, and his original works have made Broadway accessible to younger audiences. As a fellow Filipino, we are proud of him,” said Suites for Sondheim director Victor Lirio.

“Bobby represents the best of the Filipino American, and the kind of distinguished global Filipino that PhilDev would like to represent and highlight to the world. He is a talented artist,” said Ronna Reyes Sieh, who co-chairs the benefit.

Lopez said he is honored and thanked PhilDev for the “very meaningful recognition.”

PhilDev Celebrates Broadway: Suites by Sondheim is a showcase of Filipino talent as musical performers. Filipinos are said to be the largest Asian group on Broadway and off.

Another Tony Award-winner, Lea Salonga of “Miss Saigon,” heads the cast which includes Joan Almedilla, Alan Ariano, Emy Baysic, T.V. Carpio, Angel Desai, Ali Ewoldt, Rona Figueroa, Lydia Gaston, Adam Jacobs, Jose Llana, Deedee Magno Hall, Orville Mendoza, Paolo Montalban, Emily Morales, Jennifer Paz, Diane Phelan, Aaron Albano, Renee Albulario, Mary Aldousary, Angelica Lee Aspiras, Eileen Aurelia, Ester Barroso, Billy Bustamante, Leanne Cabrera, Michelle Camaya, Patricia Cancio, Liz Casasola, Karl Josef Co, Debralee Daco, Julie Danao-Salkin, Marc de la Cruz, Ma-Anne Dionisio, Ariel Estrada, Roy Flores, Albert Guerzon, Jeannie Hines, Devin Ilaw, Sacha Iskra, Joanne Javien, Brian Jose, Loresa Lanceta, Jaygee Macapugay, Mel Maghuyop, Jake Manabat, Alan Mangasser, Adam Marcelo, Jonelle Margallo, JP Moraga, Lora Nicolas, Jay Paranada, Catherine Ricafort, Enrico Rodriguez, Vincent Rodriguez III, Tony Romero, Chris-Ian Sanchez, Melissa Singson, Kay Trinidad and Dax Valdes.

Tickets can be purchased at the Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center box office on Broadway and 66th Street, online at lincolncenter.org or by calling Center Charge at 212-721-6500.

One Comment

  1. […] Robert Lopez, who received PhilDev’s Award of Excellence for his Tony Award-winning “Avenue Q” and “The […]

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: